Outstanding Genebank Staff

To acknowledge the achievements of staff working in genebanks and GHUs, the Crop Trust and CGIAR Genebank Platform announce the “Outstanding Genebank Staff” awards, which will run from May to December 2021.

These awards recognize technicians, researchers, and scientists who have gone above and beyond the call of duty to ensure critical genebank operations have continued during these difficult times.

August recipients are staff from
– Alliance-CIAT: Diana Niño, Alejandro Gutierrez, Angélica M. Martínez Vivas, and Julio César Ramírez Pretelt
– IITA: Olateju Oyelami, Ajamu Oluwabunmi Deborah, Akinfala Odunayo Elizabeth, and Samuel Alaohuo
– and CIP: Daniel Cortera, Yovana Gómez, Melody Amao, and Máximo Fernández

June recipients are staff from IRRI and Africa Rice: Flora de Guzmann, Yao Hermann Boris Koffi, and Karlin Gnikoua.

May recipients are staff from Alliance–CIAT: Mónica Vélez, Juan José Gonzalez, and Javier Mauricio Gereda.

August 2021 Recipients

June 2021 Recipients


May 2021 Recipients


The Genebanks

The 11 CGIAR genebanks currently conserve 730,000 of cereals and grain legumes, forage crops, tree species, root and tuber crops, bananas and crop wild relatives.